Message from the Director

So much has happened since our last newsletter, as you will see by reading this newsletter.  The Belin-Blank Center, with the support of so many people, continues to thrive and serve Iowa, the nation, and the globe.

The major news since my last message to you is that Professor Susan Assouline, Associate Director of the Belin-Blank Center, has been named the new Director.  Susan has assumed the directorship of the Center as of December 15, 2012; the same day that I was appointed the Interim Dean of the College of Education.

As the founding director of the Center, and now as the dean of the COE, I am extremely happy that the search committee recommended Susan.  She has been a tremendous asset to the Center, and I am confident that under her leadership, the Center will continue to grow and provide excellent leadership in gifted education.  Congratulations, Susan.

I directed the Center for these past 25 years and the several years before we became an official Center.  It has been my honor to carry the legacy of the Belin and Blank families.  I will continue to serve on faculty as the Blank Endowed Chair of Gifted Education, and as the interim dean, I will continue to support and advocate for the Center.

I have been thinking about what to say in my final message that would capture my thoughts.  It  comes down to a very simple, sincere, and elegant statement, thank you.  Thank you for all your support these many years.  Thank you for the opportunity to touch so many lives.  Thank you for the honor of having the title, Director of the Belin-Blank Center.

Nicholas Colangelo
Interim Dean, College of Education
Director Emeritus, Belin-Blank Center

Leave a Reply

