Meet Our Teachers: Taera Harman

HarmanMy name is Taera Harman and I was born in and raised in Iowa City, Iowa. My maternal grandfather was a professor of physiology at the University of Iowa. He was also a medical illustrator and a painter. My interest in drawing and painting began simply by watching him work in his studio.

I started to keep my own sketchbook and journal at the age of twelve. I keep a sketchbook and journal to this day.

The Traveler, Taera Harman (Artwork by Taera Harman Facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/pages/Artwork-by-Taera-Harman/661155663968287)

The Traveler, Taera Harman (Artwork by Taera Harman Facebook page)

Throughout junior high and high school I took every opportunity to travel abroad. Traveling has always been a great inspiration for me as it is for many artists. My personal painting style really began to develop during that time.

In 1991 I moved to Minneapolis, Minnesota and enrolled at the Minneapolis College of Art and Design. I began as an illustration major, then I switched to fine arts with an emphasis on painting and drawing. I received my Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in 1995.

Since graduating I have continued to develop a large body of work including 30 paintings. I have been able to show my work in several shows and galleries around Iowa.

I have been fortunate to share my love of art with children. From 2004 to 2007 I designed the Montessori Summer of the Arts program.

In 2013 I began teaching Challenge Saturdays at the Belin-Blank Center at the University of Iowa.

I enjoy working with children and watching them develop their own personal style of painting and drawing.

As an artist, it is so nice to see children still embracing the arts in this high-tech world.

Art is very subjective and I like to teach my students that if they are happy with their artwork that is all that matters.

Leave a Reply

